Dangerous Girls

 

Title: Dangerous Girls
Author: Abigail Haas
Genre: Contemporary/Mystery/Thriller
Publication Date: May 6th 2014
Publisher: Simon Pulse
Pages: 388
My Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

“Any one of us could be made to look a monster, with selective readings of our history.”

Spring break. Aruba. Swimming, sunshine, and drinks. Lots of drinks. It’s supposed to be the best time of Anna’s life. Perfect. But then Anna’s best friend is found brutally murdered. And as the local police begin to investigate the gruesome crime, suspicion and evidence unfathomably point to one person—Anna. Now trapped in a country not her own, Anna must fight for her freedom and prove her innocence. But as she awaits the judge’s decision, it becomes clear to Anna that everyone around her thinks she is not only guilty, but dangerous. Very dangerous. And when the truth finally comes out, it’s more shocking than anyone could have ever imagined… – Excerpt from Goodreads.

Really fun, light mystery. I recommend this to anyone who likes teen drama with a little murder on the side.

This was a fun book, I read it very fast in one sitting. I wasn’t sure whether this book should get a three or four star review but if I’m comparing this to books in the contemporary/thriller genre than I think this book is excellent. I didn’t really relate to any of the characters particularly, but I don’t always think you have to. I mean these are all spoiled, whiny and frivolous young people. I don’t think the majority would relate to them on any deep level. They are fun to read about though, it’s a guilty pleasure – you want to know which ones stabbed each other in the back and the horrible things they might have done to one an another. It’s just that kind of book.

If you don’t like teen drama, then do NOT even bother with this book because it’s full of it. This book almost completely relies on teen drama. Fans of Gossip Girl or Pretty Little Liars are likely to eat this book right up.

I didn’t really have any real issue with this book, it did exactly what it promised. I just didn’t love it enough to give it five stars. To be fair, I would have probably liked this book more if I hadn’t figured out the ending not that far in. I grew up on soaps, it’s all I watched as a kid. I watched daytime, primetime – whatever I could get my hands on. Being an avid soap watcher was probably why I was able to figure out the ending. It wasn’t predictable and it was a good one, so don’t let me saying I figured it out turn you off. They do a good job throwing everyone off from the truth the whole way.

I’m not going to say a ton on this book because the less you know, the better. It is a murder mystery after all. This book isn’t going to change your life, but you’re likely to smile through it and have a great time. Perfect book for a nice summer read on the porch with a glass of lemonade.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *